Please register or login. There are 0 registered and 1118 anonymous users currently online. Current bandwidth usage: 326.30 kbit/s April 20 - 08:59am EDT 
Hardware Analysis
      
Forums Product Prices
  Contents 
 
 

  Latest Topics 
 

More >>
 

    
 
 

  You Are Here: 
 
/ Forums / Motherboards /
 

  Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed 
 
 Author 
 Date Written 
 Tools 
Keith Doell Nov 25, 2003, 10:23am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List Replies: 17 - Views: 40968
I have an ASUS Mother board with a Maxtor Serial ATA drive. Everything seems to be working but when I boot up I get the following message:
"no device conected to Fast Track controller, BIOS not installed"

Does anybody no what this message means and how it can be resolved.


Want to enjoy fewer advertisements and more features? Click here to become a Hardware Analysis registered user.
barndoor Nov 26, 2003, 03:43pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
could be your onboard controller has no BIOS installed. Go to Promise Technology site and search for the correct one. Could also be the driver has not installed. This sometimes has to be done before the OS is installed.

Peter Sigurdson Oct 31, 2004, 07:29am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
>>could be your onboard controller has no BIOS installed. Go to Promise Technology site and search for >>the correct one. Could also be the driver has not installed. This sometimes has to be done before the OS >>is installed.

So, the driver is installed directly to the controller chip?

brian pope Oct 31, 2004, 01:19pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List

Edited: Oct 31, 2004, 01:20pm EST

 
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Barndoor is correct you need to do two things setup Fast track controller before your OS is even installed (this is done during bootup with non-partitioned or formatted HD's attached).
During OS install you'll need to load the drivers (when loading windows it asks if you need to load SCSI device drivers hit F6 at this point).

Your MB manual should explain the correct procedure.

Jim B..... Oct 31, 2004, 02:17pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
This is amazing two posts the same, just that one as <<< >>> inserted, must be a million to one on this lmao
I think you are seeing this cause you are on SATA drives, you must have the controller Enabled for the other in Bios, if you disable this then this should go away, you say your board is Asus give us the Model number and we can have a look for you.

Jim

-----------------------------------------------------
S.I.D.E
Predator Oct 31, 2004, 06:43pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Problem:

You have an Asus motherboard.

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice
DFI LanParty UT nForce4 Ultra-D

New Forum: http://www.cyberitforums.com
Keith Doell Nov 01, 2004, 10:32pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Yes I do have a SATA drive and my mother board is a P4C800-E Deluxe. Unfortunately, I have loaded windows and have a ton of video editing software runing. I originally posted this problem over a year ago and just try to ignore the ugly message. Is there an easier solution than reloading Windows?

Chris McNally Nov 02, 2004, 03:06am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Calc, no need to show your ignorance of the subject matter. The problem is not that Keith has an Asus mobo, the problem is that the onboard Promise raid controller has no drive plugged into it but has not been disabled in the Bios. Sheesh..........

Keith, hit Del at the POST screen to enter the Bios, then under the "Advanced" menu, submenu "Onboard devices configuration" set "Onboard Promise Controller" to disabled and the job's done.

See, this is what I mean when I say that Asus get slated as a manufacturer by people who don't know how to set up their mobo's properly.

OK, Tuesday morning rant over, back to work, now where's my coffee..............?

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
Jim B..... Nov 02, 2004, 07:57pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Nice one Chris

-----------------------------------------------------
S.I.D.E
Keith Doell Nov 02, 2004, 09:25pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Well, Chris you were right.

Thanks,

Keith

Chris McNally Nov 03, 2004, 02:21am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
You're welcome. Only took a year, eh? :)

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
Jim B..... Nov 03, 2004, 04:07pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Glad we could help :) :) :)

Jim

-----------------------------------------------------
S.I.D.E
Simon Crisci May 25, 2005, 02:18pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
wooooot! go Chris!

I will try that tonight!

Chris McNally May 25, 2005, 02:33pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
It's the post that would not die.........

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
Dennis Jensen Dec 28, 2008, 02:13pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Hmm yeah.. after i disabled it in bios it stop searching for it.. but every time i start up a female voice telling me that bios is not installed... :/

Any ideas to remove that..??


Gerritt Dec 28, 2008, 09:10pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Dennis Jensen said:
Hmm yeah.. after i disabled it in bios it stop searching for it.. but every time i start up a female voice telling me that bios is not installed... :/

Any ideas to remove that..??



A couple of options here. First disable the speech function in BIOS/ADVANCED/Speech Configuration, or you can use the ASUS Winbond Voice editor to disable the BIOS Speech response for IDE Drives.
For more information see the ASUS User guides availible at asus.com.

Gerritt

Ad Astra Per Aspera
(A rough road leads to the Stars)
We all know what we know, and everyone else knows we are wrong.
System Specifications in BIO
Tony Robledo Oct 09, 2011, 11:53pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Thank you Chris your tip is still helping years after you posted

Thanks, tony

Chris Fent Oct 23, 2011, 01:31pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Fast Track controller could not be detected, no bios installed
Hi this problem happened to me today I was restarting my pc after uninstalling a program and it came up with this message, I followed what u said and disabled the promise controller in the bios settings which got rid of the message but it freezes wen it tries to load up wen it has just the loading bar on screen. I can start it in safe mode but not a normal start up or previous configuration. Any ideas on this? Mine is Asus as well. I'm not a techy person so any help would be amazing. Ty


Write a Reply >>


 

    
 
 

  Topic Tools 
 
RSS UpdatesRSS Updates
 

  Related Articles 
 
 

  Newsletter 
 
A weekly newsletter featuring an editorial and a roundup of the latest articles, news and other interesting topics.

Please enter your email address below and click Subscribe.