Please register or login. There are 1 registered and 955 anonymous users currently online. Current bandwidth usage: 1082.75 kbit/s April 18 - 02:11pm EDT 
Hardware Analysis
      
Forums Product Prices
  Contents 
 
 

  Latest Topics 
 

More >>
 

    
 
 

  You Are Here: 
 
/ Forums / Videocards /
 

  "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem" 
 
 Author 
 Date Written 
 Tools 
Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, Next >>
Jeff Nine Jul 30, 2002, 12:36am EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List Replies: 133 - Views: 237369
Having problems playing any games with my new VisionTek GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP card. I just replaced a Voodoo 3 with the new card and removed all references to 3dfx and glide in the system and registry.

I keep getting the following error message:
"GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
while trying to load Return to Castle Wolfenstein and ST Voyager Elite Force (only two games I have tried so far).
I have the latest VisionTek and nVidia drivers, DirectX 8.1 and everything else seems to be working (2D is ok).
I am running WinME on an Athlon 900 mhz, Asus KT7Raid board with 512 Meg Ram.
Everything worked well with the Voodoo 3 card, but I want to play Medal of Honor!

Thanks,
Jeff
fxpath9@yahoo.com


Below is a transcript of the entire startup log for RTCW:
Wolf 1.0 win-x86 Nov 13 2001
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Program Files\Return to Castle Wolfenstein\main\mp_pak2.pk3 (3 files)
C:\Program Files\Return to Castle Wolfenstein\main\mp_pak1.pk3 (308 files)
C:\Program Files\Return to Castle Wolfenstein\main\mp_pak0.pk3 (783 files)
C:\Program Files\Return to Castle Wolfenstein\main\pak0.pk3 (4775 files)
C:\Program Files\Return to Castle Wolfenstein/main

----------------------
5869 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec language.cfg
execing wolfconfig_mp.cfg
execing autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
...detecting CPU, found AMD w/ 3DNow!
Bypassing CD checks
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
Loaded 680 translation strings from scripts/translation.cfg
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...assuming 'gl/openglv5.dll' is a standalone driver
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\gl/openglv5.dll.dll' ): failed
...shutting down QGL
...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
...initializing QGL
...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
...shutting down QGL
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using desktop display depth of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem


Want to enjoy fewer advertisements and more features? Click here to become a Hardware Analysis registered user.
Todd Goodman Aug 27, 2002, 07:15pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I'm having the same exact problems with my new Gainward Geforce4 card, but most of the time games just crash and hang without any error message (only with one very old nvidia driver could I get it to give an error message, and that was the same message you got). If you find a solution to the problem, please let me know, I've tried everything!

see my post: http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/topic/2323/

Aidan Fitzpatrick Aug 28, 2002, 02:11pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I've had this problem numerous times with Q3 based games like Wolfenstein and Allied Assault. It sucks.

The first time, it was moving from another card to a Matrox G400 MAX. I'd had a Voodoo in the machine before, and Windows had got its OpenGL settings confused. Reinstalling drivers umpteen times didn't work. In the end, I found there are three possible causes:

1) NetMeeting has got Remote Desktop Sharing activated, preventing the game engine from hitting the high-res. This is unlikely.

2) There's a 3dfx DLL of sorts in the Windows SYSTEM32 folder. It's presence is enough to make Wolfenstein try to load it, and fail. Deleting this was my solution and it worked.

3) Upping the AGP Aperture size in your BIOS to the correct value (or over it, to 256MB) can prevent this, as well.

After checking all those things, the game ran like a dream on my Matrox. However, after upgrading today to a Radeon 9000, both Wolfenstein and Allied Assault are failing once more. You guessed it -- long stream of rubbish followed by:

...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\System32\3dfxvgl.dll' ): failed
...shutting down QGL
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

for both of them. I've upped the GFX aperture, uninstalled the old Matrox drivers, and installed the new Radeon ones. Just can't get it to work. I'll try uninstalling and reinstalling drivers.

From what I've read in other forums, this is a very common error with many Q3-based games and any graphics cards. It's all ID's fault.

Good luck!

Aidan Fitzpatrick Aug 28, 2002, 02:19pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
Ah, whaddayanow. After all this time I've found a solution. Even when I'd chosen "Show hidden devices" in the Device Manager they were still really there -- like my old Voodoo.

Have a look at this: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;Q241257

Write the script it mentions, then use device manager to remove the old hidey hidey Voodoo.

Ta da!

Jonathan Guardado Sep 06, 2002, 09:40pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
on the system 32 thingy to u delete the whle folder or certain ones!!!! plz hurry tell me i want to play wolfenstien

cam cam Sep 07, 2002, 11:26pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I have the solution to remove old drivers left from old cards on Win 98.
Right click your desktop, choose properties, settings-> advanced-> adapter-> change.
Select 'Display a list', then show all hardware, select the first line in manufacture and choose the first pci under model.
Download direct-x newest version, and the drivers for the radeon/nvida card. Reboot, then install the direct-x and the card drivers. Reboot and adjust your display and your done. RTCW, and Battlefield 1942 both work fine.

Juice78 Sep 20, 2002, 11:28am EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I had the also freezing gray screen when starting RTCW and Mohaa.
Fast Write caused my problems, disabling helped me. I also changed AGP Aperture Size from 32MB to 128MB. I donīt know does this make any difference.

Pissed Camper Oct 27, 2002, 12:03pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I had this problem also and was pulling my hair out trying to find a solution. Finally after much research, I found out it was because I have the dual monitor thing on my video card turned on. Apparently, opengl will not work when 2 monitors are enabled. I disabled it by right-clcking on the second monitor in "display properties / settings" and unchecking "enabled". Now Quake 3 works like a charm. I hope this helps someone.

Kirt Neal Nov 20, 2002, 05:23pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
ok look i want to play mohaa really badly i dont kno what most yall say is im not a computer freak i just want ot play agin i dint have that thing in the system folder or whatever but i really wanna find out will some1 help me.my aim is nealnstar,my icq# is173218457

Mitch Wilson Dec 08, 2002, 01:32pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I just got RTCW and i would like really really like someone to e-mail me a detailed description i would deeply appreciate it, my aol screennames are batsy419, batsy2004, yahoo is knights_45822, msn is titan_45424 and if anyone can help me im sure i could help them with just about any other computer problem i never faced one like this one but i can help with jsut about anyothers if i cant i can tell ya who can

rd 9 Dec 23, 2002, 07:38pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
MY SOLUTION FOLLOWS, first some details....
(i know lots of people have this problem, and its mentioned on many message boards, so go ahead and spread this solution, because it is rare)

i had the "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem" problem

running Return to Castle Wolfenstein,
Hercules 3D Prophet 4000XT PCI (Kyro) 64MB
Windows XP
DirectX 9

I had tried all other peoples' recommendations, including switching and deleteting and renaming the opengl32.dll files. I also tried reinstalling drivers, getting wolfenstein patches, etc. nothing worked.

finally I found one posting with an idea, MY SOLUTION. THIS FINALLY WORKED FOR ME

-------

STEP 1.

Get SciTech's "GL Direct"

(Official description: SciTech GLDirect allows you to run OpenGL-based applications using Microsoft DirectX 6.x or later drivers. SciTech GLDirect is compatible with any graphics card that supports DirectX 6.x)

Download the 21 Day free trial from: http://www.scitechsoft.com/products/enterprise/gld_home.html

and install

STEP 2.

[REMOVED, please remember that by registering at Hardware Analysis you agreed to not provide downloads, cracks or any other information pointing to illegal downloads, files or content that could be classified as such].

William Paro Dec 25, 2002, 07:03pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
ok I need some help here, I don't want to beg but you see I got MOHAA for christmas and Playstation 2 sure I love playstation 2 but my dang borhter keeps playing it so I wanted MOHAA to keep me busy. I fell in love with the game the first time I saw it and I finally got it, but the Open GL error pops up for me as well I have an ATI RAGE 128 PRO card and everything on the system requirements on the box, I have. it seemed perfect but a bunch of errors including that GL error popped up, it was annoying. I went everywhere to try and find an answer, I had to come here and post a reply on this topic. I will send a whole thing on the errors I got

--- Common Initialization ---
Medal of Honor Allied Assault 1.00 win-x86 Dec 6 2001
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Program Files\Games & Misc\Medal of Honor AA\main\Pak5.pk3 (259 files)
C:\Program Files\Games & Misc\Medal of Honor AA\main\Pak4.pk3 (593 files)
C:\Program Files\Games & Misc\Medal of Honor AA\main\Pak3.pk3 (669 files)
C:\Program Files\Games & Misc\Medal of Honor AA\main\Pak2.pk3 (4722 files)
C:\Program Files\Games & Misc\Medal of Honor AA\main\Pak1.pk3 (772 files)
C:\Program Files\Games & Misc\Medal of Honor AA\main\Pak0.pk3 (11175 files)
C:\Program Files\Games & Misc\Medal of Honor AA/main

----------------------
18190 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
execing menu.cfg
execing newconfig.cfg
Config: unnamedsoldier.cfg
couldn't exec configs/unnamedsoldier.cfg
couldn't exec localized.cfg
execing autoexec.cfg
Unknown command "fov"
couldn't exec custom.cfg
...detecting CPU, found Intel Pentium III

------- Input Initialization -------
Initializing DirectInput...
Couldn't set DI coop level
Falling back to Win32 mouse support...
------- Input Initialization Complete ------- 134
You are now setup for easy mode.
----- Client Initialization -----
Called FadeSound with: 0.000000
----- Initializing Renderer ----
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\System32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
...initializing QGL
...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
...shutting down QGL
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

ok all that crap came up and it wouldn't load, the main problem I am guessing is the GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem error, can anyone help me out here? that would be great. thanks all who will try to help me.

ogie milankovic Jan 02, 2003, 09:32pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
hi!
i had problems with GLW_StartOpenGL() and after i followed instructions that you told us and i got another message and it says Warning: Requires a video card with multitextureing ability" thats what happens when i start the medal of honor game

ogie milankovic Jan 02, 2003, 10:00pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> WARNING: Medal of Honor requires a video card with multitexturing capability
i had problems with GLW_startOpenGL() before and i fixed it, but right now when i start the game it says WARNING: Medal of Honor requires a video card with multitexturing capability

peter harris Jan 06, 2003, 09:11am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I have the very same problem with Star Trek Voyager Elite, I have an S3 Trio 3d card but I dont know if the solutions given will work for mine, can anyone help?

p.s. I dont know loads about puters so in plain english please....pretty please!

peter harris Jan 06, 2003, 09:11am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I have the very same problem with Star Trek Voyager Elite, I have an S3 Trio 3d card but I dont know if the solutions given will work for mine, can anyone help?

p.s. I dont know loads about puters so in plain english please....pretty please!

jake Jan 06, 2003, 11:57am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
right heres a sure fire solution, but you shoud only do it you know how and as a last resort, do a clean install of windows. this will basically sort out most driver problems. It seems to me that all of you have had a 3dfx card installed at one time, 3dfx used there own API called 3dfx glide, basically a version of open gl but designed for 3dfx boards. you can also check that q3 is using the default gl driver by going to
\quake3\baseq3\q3config.cfg and opening this in word pad. there then should be a line saying "seta r_glDriver "opengl32"" make sure it is opengl32 and not a 3dfx one.

When it comes to it saying you need a card with mutitexturing then you do (funnly enough) need a card with a multitexturing capability. if you know your card does then download the latest drivers for it.
good luck dudes

Error 34:
There was no error
amir none Jan 24, 2003, 03:35pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
I got the error:

GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

when I try to play MOHAA like everyone else here. But it the game worked fine when I played it when I had Win ME, but now that I upgraded to XP it stopped working and I get this error! I don't want to go back to ME because it is horribly slow. Can someone help please.

vince hiatt Jan 25, 2003, 10:57am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
This fixed it for me in Windows ME on 2 seperate computers.
Some installation programs set the following
"DVA = 0 " in win.ini file
here is how to find it
start,then run, at run type msconfig, open the win.ini file.
look for a listing DrawDib and in it should be the value DVA = 0
on my version I just had to uncheck the box beside DVA = 0
on some you may need to edit win.ini and delete the statement DVA = 0
Remember to save the win.ini if you edit it
(If this doesn't work you can always re-enter the line)

restart your computer. enjoy.

ogie milankovic Jan 25, 2003, 04:39pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
hi!
i had windows xp home edition and i had OpenGL video card, i could play games like medal of honor,and i did system recovery but something got wrong and i deleted it all the files from my computer nothing was on it, and after that i installed windows xp professional on my computer and i didnt have openGL video card i couldnt play medal of honor everytime i start the game it says GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem.
Thank you for your time!

eric solan Jan 31, 2003, 12:06am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"
ABSOLUTE FIX FOR: could not load OpenGL Subsystem() and missing Glide installation problems, which half of Wolfenstein and Mohaa users have encountered. After searching endlessly on the internet for something that acutally fixes the problem, I have finally fixed it.

1. Get SciTech's "GL Direct"

(Official description: SciTech GLDirect allows you to run OpenGL-based applications using Microsoft DirectX 6.x or later drivers. SciTech GLDirect is compatible with any graphics card that supports DirectX 6.x +)

Download the 21 Day free trial from: http://www.scitechsoft.com/products/enterprise/gld_home.html

and install

2.

[REMOVED, please remember that by registering at Hardware Analysis you agreed to not provide downloads, cracks or any other information pointing to illegal downloads, files or content that could be classified as such].


Write a Reply >>

Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, Next >>

 

    
 
 

  Topic Tools 
 
RSS UpdatesRSS Updates
 

  Related Articles 
 
 

  Newsletter 
 
A weekly newsletter featuring an editorial and a roundup of the latest articles, news and other interesting topics.

Please enter your email address below and click Subscribe.