Please register or login. There are 0 registered and 348 anonymous users currently online. Current bandwidth usage: 326.30 kbit/s July 14 - 01:10pm EDT 
Hardware Analysis
      
Forums Product Prices
  Contents 
 
 

  Latest Topics 
 

More >>
 

    
 
 

  You Are Here: 
 
/ Forums / Motherboards /
 

  Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe FAQ 
 
 Author 
 Date Written 
 Tools 
Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167, 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188, 189, 190, 191, 192, 193, 194, 195, 196, 197, 198, 199, 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, 205, 206, 207, 208, 209, 210, 211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216, 217, 218, 219, 220, 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227, 228, 229, 230, 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, 236, 237, 238, 239, 240, 241, 242, 243, 244, 245, 246, 247, 248, 249, 250, 251, 252, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257, 258, 259, 260, Next >>
Paul Bennett Mar 04, 2005, 08:45am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
alex i would try and help you but:
a. i have not gotten past mobo boot to even get to install the os
b. i am kind of new at building a total comp, and am pretty worthless

do you have the sli settings set like mike or sander ( i forget ) said to?

Want to enjoy less advertisements and more features? Click here to become a Hardware Analysis registered user.
Aleq Skanky Mar 04, 2005, 09:21am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI VIDEO POST PROBLEMS **ONGOING**
Paul,

Yes I have followed the BIOS guide as I mentioned in the bottom of my post

Also to add to it.
With the PCI test card installed and the BIOS 1004 going to into the CMOS setup
then Advanced/SLI Mode causes a software freeze (can CTRL-ALT-DEL)
Same problem occurs when going to Advanced/Jumper Free Configuration/PCI Clock Sych mode

I think I identified ** Double-Short-Short-Short-Short ** as Chasis fan 1 below threshold
I have disabled it as I'm doing an out of box test to rule out shorting to case problems.

Still no PCIE video post ** Long-Short-Short **

Aleq


Paul Bennett Mar 04, 2005, 09:32am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
yes aleq that is a good question...i too am puzzled by the channel 1 fan and channel 2.....the wire from the mobo on for channel 1 is not long enough ( by a long shot ) so i plugged it into the channel 2 which it can reach ( i have a coolermaster case, mid tower )....i get that exact same message did as you did and disabled it....what is the methodology behind channel 1 and channel 2 fans? although i don't think this is part of your or my probs....i knwo our probs are different i just don't think the channel 1 thing is the root cause, but like i said i am new so please don't take anything i say very seriously i am just venting some thoughts...just tried to reboot mine again and got the same "NO 80 pin IDE 0" message...fry's opens up shortly i am headed there now....although i have tried several cables, may none of them are really 80 pin....jeez i don't know

Whizzz AKA: SLI Scientist@Work Mar 04, 2005, 09:51am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Aleq,

With the PCI test card installed and the BIOS 1004 going to into the CMOS setup
then Advanced/SLI Mode causes a software freeze (can CTRL-ALT-DEL)
Same problem occurs when going to Advanced/Jumper Free Configuration/PCI Clock Sych mode

>>>Set to Advanced/Normal
>>>PCI Clock Synch Mode/To CPU
>>>Set RAM timings manually to 3-3-3-8 2T DDR 400 MHz
>>>All Auto in CPU config

I think I identified ** Double-Short-Short-Short-Short ** as Chasis fan 1 below threshold
I have disabled it as I'm doing an out of box test to rule out shorting to case problems.

>>>Your are correct on that one.

Still no PCIE video post ** Long-Short-Short **

>>>See what happens now and let me know. I will give you some more pointers after you try this.

Mike :)

Peter Weaver Mar 04, 2005, 10:10am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Thanks very much Sander and other contributors, great info in this one :)

The mobo is working fine now but a word of caution:

If you plan to use a 20pin p/s and Molex-to-PCIX (6-pin) videocard adapter connectors be very careful that the EZ socket on the main board - by the videocards and with the red warning LED nearby - has a split 12V connection. Try not to have a hard drive and that EZ socket (Molex) on the same part of the power supply cable loom. I connected everything correctly with adapters but with one less power connector than I needed, I manoeuvered one power connector over to the mobo and when I booted up there was a smell and I lost a hard drive and a DVD drive, the mobo and probably the (Antex 550W) power supply...

Try to get an ATA 2.0 power supply (24 pin) with the new PCIX 6-pin connectors native, the Enermax SLI 600W is excellent

Weaver

Peter Weaver Mar 04, 2005, 10:14am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Oops forgot to thank you too Mike!

Thanks mate I really appreciate your excellent posts. Helped me out no end in the tearing-the-hair-out moments :)

Weaver

Whizzz AKA: SLI Scientist@Work Mar 04, 2005, 10:19am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List

Edited: Mar 04, 2005, 11:14am EST

 
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Paul Bennett

somehow i don't think this is basic stuff....i have switched cables used different ones, bought new ones...made
sure they were seated tight etc...i might be off in the neopower psu, i really don't think so but could be, it is
modular so you only use the cables you need...although each molex lead has 3 power plugs off of it....
>>>I used the word BASIC as this is basic to me, also for the fact that BIOS has been covered somewhat in depth in this forum and I didn't want to be repetitive.

just went through it again and enabled 'floppy boot seek' in teh bios, then it tells me i do not have 80 connector on IDE 0 - odd so i went back in and disabled it like you said in your set up guide....i am using the asus ribbon cables that came with mobo
>>>Leave it disabled, and stop buying new cables, you're wasting your money.

although i have tried rounded ones too....also i put my old windows xp disk in and i will
be darned i don't get that disk boot error message that i had been getting with OR without disks in the drives....i shut it down after it started loading the windows cd since i cannot install that same copy on a new computer, but that is darn strange.....re tried hooking up cd rom, dvd rom, plextor burner etc....it only seems to let me go further with the old windows xp cd that i used to set up this old computer i am using....odd....don't know what else i can tell you.....
>>>Go here and create a bootable XP cd with SP2 Slipstreamed, using the XP cd you have now, don't burn to DVD http://www.nu2.nu/bootcd/

it sees my pioneer dvd burner, the floppy drive ( i guess, it just says "legacy" floppy drive in
bios ) but it sees the exact brand of my burner drive, and it sees my seagate HD ( exactly, by name )....
>>>Good sign!

have tried taking the little battery out and setting jumpers over to pin 2 and 3 for a second and then putting jumpers back and rebooting, still get the disk boot error, have checked and re checked, no disk is in any drive and it still gives me that error.....checked and re checked boot order, tried every which combo i could think of....
>>>Once you create the cd I mentioned you should be fine. Set first boot device to Hard Disk,second CD third CD and fourth Removable, and leave them there. You will get a prompt to boot from CD on boot up, hit enter.

also googled 'disk boot error'
and for another asus mobo someone posted that this was a prob with promise controller and was fixed with bios rev. for this other mobo ( i forget which, i think it was A7 something or other...) like i said
i am pretty new well brand new at building one....lol, anyway if you get a sec and think of something i am game to try it....
>>>I'm giving the right things to try.

well my bios flashed ok ( i think ) using the dvd rom i burned, but it shows up as rev 1.004 when system first
boots....i bought a new keyboard ( i had been using logitech with that stupid f lock button problem ) and just
bought a basic microsoft keyboard, no wireless just basic....now when computer boots up today i get that message i got yesterday " non 80 wire on IDE channel 0......is IDE channel 0 the Pioneer multiburner drive? i would assume....
>>>No

maybe that means the floppy drive....
>>>Yes

i have CAREFULLY checked the floppy drive socket on mobo, and cable is plugged
in correctly for floppy....the end wiht the 'twist' is at the floppy drive side and the 1 SATA HD i have plugged in shows up as master 1.......
>>>We will see if it is plugged in properly, send me a photo, mikethellend@hotmail.com

i think this "non 80 wire on IDE channel 0 is key here but if it doesn't like the cable
why does it show up in bios as exactly that burner?
>>>This is not correct. Defaulting to this because there is a problem with FLoppy setup or something else.
>>>Your DVD should read from IDE 1 or 2 not 0

however, like mike said i have it set to auto in that part, and it does not show any thing in the fields for the heads....
>>>Normal

on my SATA HD it is set to auto and it does show fields for the heads or sectors or something..there are numbers in there for my HD but not for my DVD multiburner...
>>>Ok, and normal

maybe i should try "cable select?" i am going to best buy right now to see if i can get a "80 pin connector" cable that the burner and the mobo both like....
>>>Once again stop waisting your money and time, you have cables already.

cheapo pioneer did not put a cable in the box.....dang.....long day ahead .....
*SIGH *
>>Yes, this will be a long day.

PS: Set your RAM timings to 3-3-3-8 2T DDR 400 MHz
Default CPU settings and Normal for video.

Mike :)

Whizzz AKA: SLI Scientist@Work Mar 04, 2005, 10:24am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List

Edited: Mar 04, 2005, 11:07am EST

 
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Peter Weaver

Thank you! Your welcome.

PS: I like Enermax too!

Mike :)

PETER PALAITIS Mar 04, 2005, 11:15am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
I want to create a driver disk for NVRaid for installing Windows XP. When I pop in the motherboard CD (on mulitple computers) the drivers tab shows this cryptic message: Detect no proper item.

What's up with that? The instructions in the manual says I have to create the raid driver disk from here. I can't believe they put out a driver cd that doesn't work. For those who are running NVraid how did you create the driver disk???

Whizzz AKA: SLI Scientist@Work Mar 04, 2005, 11:24am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List

Edited: Mar 04, 2005, 02:39pm EST

 
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
PETER PALAITIS

I want to create a driver disk for NVRaid for installing Windows XP. When I pop in the motherboard CD (on mulitple computers) the drivers tab shows this cryptic message: Detect no proper item.

I can't believe they put out a driver cd that doesn't work
>>>User error?

What's up with that? The instructions in the manual says I have to create the raid driver disk from here. I can't believe they put out a driver cd that doesn't work. For those who are running NVraid how did you create the driver disk???

>>>There are a few reasons this is happening to you, but to make things easier:
>>>Open the CD on your current computer, install a formatted disk in floppy a, and under Drivers tab of the main motherboard cd, click make Nvidia RAID disk

>>>Another way is to boot with cd in the CD or DVD ROM and hit enter if prompted. Make sure that one of your Boot Devices (4) include CD ROM, when it loads there will be an option to create NVRaid drivers disk, create it.

>>>Another way is to manually double click on the MakeDisk.exe in the following path D: being my DVD recorders path. D:\Drivers\Chipset\WINXP_2K\Driver_Disk.

There are other methods, but I think you will manage with one of the following.

PS: If you don't have two drives for RAID, you wont need these drivers, just making sure as I don't know what equipment you have. You need the FORMATTED FLOPPY IN THE DRIVE before creating.
How did your quest for a speaker turn out?

Mike :)

Greg Giles Mar 04, 2005, 01:03pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
I was wondering if you guys could tell me what your GPUs idol temps are? Im trying to figure out if mine are high or not and looking for a average. Also what version Forceware do you use? My Main GPU is idoling at 60C and secondary is 54C using Forceware 75.90. Also say if you have water cooling or not. Thanks guys

PETER PALAITIS Mar 04, 2005, 01:42pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Maybe I didn't make myself clear. There are no options on the drivers tab, just the cryptic message: "Detect no proper item." Again, there are no options to choose from on the drivers tab.

PETER PALAITIS Mar 04, 2005, 01:45pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
I foung a 99 cent speaker with $1 shipping, can't beat that!

http://www.bestbyteinc.com/prodinfo.asp?number=CAS-CHW-SP1&...p;mitem=12

PETER PALAITIS Mar 04, 2005, 02:01pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Yes, I have two 74GB Raptors, and I want them in a Raid 1. I figured out how to create the disk manually, but it is annoying that they put out a CD with such a glaring deficiency. Also, booting from the cd it tells me to insert my formatted floppy to "B:\" Very sloppy. Does NVidia have the NVRaid drivers available for download?

Whizzz AKA: SLI Scientist@Work Mar 04, 2005, 02:12pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
PETER PALAITIS

I don't know where the hell you got your CD from, but I think you are the first in the world to have this problem. A motherboard cd that we all have with the ASUS A8N-SLI or A8N-SLI deluxe that has no drivers for the RAID, hmmmm! Glitch in the burning process I suppose.

And yes you were not very clear when you explained yourself the first time.

Mike

PETER PALAITIS Mar 04, 2005, 02:16pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Ok, well I did discover there is another set of Raid drivers in the nForce 6.39 kit available on NVidia's site, and that they are newer. So now, which then should I use.. the older ones provided on the Asus CD, or the newer ones downloaded from NVidia???

PETER PALAITIS Mar 04, 2005, 02:18pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Well, you would be wrong Mike, because a google search on "detect no proper item" turns up a few others.. from Asus CD's, like this one:

http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic17493.html

Whizzz AKA: SLI Scientist@Work Mar 04, 2005, 02:21pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List

Edited: Mar 04, 2005, 03:05pm EST

 
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
I did say "I think" you are!!!

So now, which then should I use.. the older ones provided on the Asus CD

>>>I thought you said there were no RAID drivers on the cd earlier, did you use one of the methods I showed you to find them?

Maybe I didn't make myself clear. There are no options on the drivers tab, just the cryptic message: "Detect no proper item." Again, there are no options to choose from on the drivers tab.

>>>I gave you two other methods to get them, did you? The reason I talked about the DRIVER TAB was because most people do not realize the error message is a result of not having the floppy in place...

Mike

Whizzz AKA: SLI Scientist@Work Mar 04, 2005, 02:35pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List

Edited: Mar 04, 2005, 02:50pm EST

 
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
Hi Greg,

I was wondering if you guys could tell me what your GPUs idol temps are? Im trying to figure out if mine are high or not and looking for a average. Also what version Forceware do you use? My Main GPU is idoling at 60C and secondary is 54C using Forceware 75.90. Also say if you have water cooling or not. Thanks guys

Prior to my changing to a watercooled system which is now at 38C on 71.81 drivers, I was getting 57C on my GPU 1 and 55C on my GPU 2.

Mike :)

PETER PALAITIS Mar 04, 2005, 02:40pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Asus A8N-SLI FAQ
The drivers are on the CD, but you have to copy the files to a floppy manually. The DRIVERS tab just gives that cryptic error message, with no options to create anything. But now that I've found the driver and put them on a floppy, I discovered that newer files are available on the NVidia website. See here -->

From NVidia's NFORCE kit v6.39:
01/20/2005 08:35 AM 5 disk1
01/20/2005 08:45 AM 295,424 idecoi.dll
01/26/2005 11:10 PM 10,453 nvata.cat
01/25/2005 07:59 PM 5,575 nvatabus.inf
01/20/2005 08:45 AM 88,960 NvAtaBus.sys
12/16/2004 04:32 PM 32,256 nvcoi.dll
12/01/2004 02:30 AM 3,507 nvide.nvu
01/26/2005 11:10 PM 10,449 nvraid.cat
01/20/2005 08:39 AM 2,535 nvraid.inf
01/20/2005 08:45 AM 68,992 nvraid.sys
01/20/2005 08:45 AM 17,408 nvraidco.dll
12/16/2004 04:32 PM 176,128 nvuide.exe
01/20/2005 08:35 AM 4,634 txtsetup.oem

From ASUS CD:
10/27/2004 01:39 AM 5 disk1
11/03/2004 03:58 PM 294,912 idecoi.dll
09/14/2004 02:41 AM 8,557 nvata.cat
11/03/2004 03:53 PM 5,936 nvatabus.inf
11/03/2004 03:58 PM 86,144 NvAtaBus.sys
10/29/2004 09:26 AM 32,256 nvcoi.dll
09/24/2004 08:21 PM 750 nvide.nvu
09/14/2004 02:38 AM 8,553 nvraid.cat
11/03/2004 03:54 PM 2,535 nvraid.inf
11/03/2004 03:58 PM 68,224 nvraid.sys
11/03/2004 03:58 PM 17,920 nvraidco.dll
10/29/2004 09:25 AM 176,128 nvuide.exe
10/27/2004 01:39 AM 4,634 txtsetup.oem

Not sure what you mean about being unfriendly or insulting..


Write a Reply >>

Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167, 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188, 189, 190, 191, 192, 193, 194, 195, 196, 197, 198, 199, 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, 205, 206, 207, 208, 209, 210, 211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216, 217, 218, 219, 220, 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227, 228, 229, 230, 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, 236, 237, 238, 239, 240, 241, 242, 243, 244, 245, 246, 247, 248, 249, 250, 251, 252, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257, 258, 259, 260, Next >>

 

    
 
 

  Topic Tools 
 
RSS UpdatesRSS Updates
 

  Related Articles 
 
 

  Newsletter 
 
A weekly newsletter featuring an editorial and a roundup of the latest articles, news and other interesting topics.

Please enter your email address below and click Subscribe.