Please register or login. There are 0 registered and 6679 anonymous users currently online. Current bandwidth usage: 326.30 kbit/s August 11 - 08:05pm EDT 
Hardware Analysis
      
Forums Product Prices
  Contents 
 
 

  Latest Topics 
 

More >>
 

    
 
 

  You Are Here: 
 
/ Forums / Other Hardware /
 

  ECC/Registered RAM?? 
 
 Author 
 Date Written 
 Tools 
andy l Mar 03, 2005, 05:06pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List Replies: 5 - Views: 1071
can anybody explain what this is??

also, what are the advantages/disadvantages of getting these types of RAM?


Want to enjoy fewer advertisements and more features? Click here to become a Hardware Analysis registered user.
Harris Walktin Mar 03, 2005, 06:26pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: ECC/Registered RAM??
Registered RAM is high latency max reliabilty memory. Its for servers only, and not recommended at all for gaming or normal pc use. Registered ram is reliable because it runs at lower speeds and has many features that keep it up and running, and preventing memory dumps nad system crashes. Though it sounds good, its really only for servers, and not many cpus/mobo support it.

- Harris W. -AMD Employee
AMD cannot be held responsible for any damage done to your PC by my advice. My advice is valid.
Liquid Shadow Mar 03, 2005, 09:30pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: ECC/Registered RAM??
Yeah I heard that ECC and Registered RAM are really slow.



--------------------------------------------------------------
ADK 1Q AR Laptop
Core i5 520M | 4GB RAM | ATI HD4570
varun rao Mar 03, 2005, 10:53pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: ECC/Registered RAM??
ECC or Error Correcting Codes are RAM with inbuilt codes that prevent erroneous data from finding its way into processing tehreby saving valuable computation time.It has extra 8 bits that check data prior to exit.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Outdated
Supreet Virdi Mar 04, 2005, 04:47am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: ECC/Registered RAM??
I read somewhere thats its advised to use ECC memory if memory size exceeds 1GB.

Michael Miller Mar 25, 2005, 02:56pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: ECC/Registered RAM??
I plan on using ECC Ram in my new Workstation PCs i am buidling

3.4GHz Intel Pentium 4
2.0GB Kingston ECC PC3200 RAM(might upgrade to 3GB)
256MB Nvidia Quadro FX 4000
ASUS P4C800 E Deluxe Motherboard

this is for 3D Modeling and Animation.

My other PC will be pretty much the same thing except it will have:
128MB Nvidia Quadro FX 1100
32MB Matrox RT.X100 Xtreme Pro Video Editing Card
This one will be for video editing and if I need to do some serious rendering I can render accross both PCs thanks to a new feature in Alias Maya Unlimited 6.5.


Write a Reply >>


 

    
 
 

  Topic Tools 
 
RSS UpdatesRSS Updates
 

  Related Articles 
 
 

  Newsletter 
 
A weekly newsletter featuring an editorial and a roundup of the latest articles, news and other interesting topics.

Please enter your email address below and click Subscribe.