Please register or login. There are 0 registered and 1426 anonymous users currently online. Current bandwidth usage: 326.30 kbit/s July 24 - 11:38pm EDT 
Hardware Analysis
      
Forums Product Prices
  Contents 
 
 

  Latest Topics 
 

More >>
 

    
 
 

  You Are Here: 
 
/ Forums / Networking / Wireless /
 

  Network setup problems 
 
 Author 
 Date Written 
 Tools 
Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2, Next >>
MC CL Mar 25, 2006, 08:34am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List Replies: 33 - Views: 5581
I've recently upgraded one of my two PCs to an Acer Aspire. I've added a Linksys WMP54G network card (there is an identical one installed on my son's PC - a Dell running Windows XP Professional) and I want to run an ad-hoc network. This worked fine before I changed one PC. Now although both cards and drivers are recognised and fully installed, I can NOT get any further. When I run the Network Wizard, I get as far as "The Wizard found disconnected Network hardware". My Linksys card is listed, but I can not get it connected. Any suggestions ?


Want to enjoy fewer advertisements and more features? Click here to become a Hardware Analysis registered user.
Chris McNally Mar 25, 2006, 09:22am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Welcome to HWA.

Is device manager reporting any problems? Can you ping either PC from the other?

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
Chris McNally Mar 25, 2006, 09:23am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Also, do both machines have different I.P addresses?

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
MC CL Mar 25, 2006, 09:28am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Device manager does not show any problems. Just remind me how to "ping" - thanks

Chris McNally Mar 25, 2006, 09:32am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Start>run>cmd then type ping <ip address>

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
Chris McNally Mar 25, 2006, 09:42am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Take a look at this and post back with how you get on

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/expert/bow...ril08.mspx

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
jmerc Mar 25, 2006, 10:22am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List

Edited: Mar 25, 2006, 10:23am EST

 
>> Re: Network setup problems
So after installing the adapter, did you run the Linksys software?
See the user guide in the link below.

http://tinyurl.com/d7kbv

Jay

Life is too short, make the best of it!
MC CL Mar 25, 2006, 11:03am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Thanks for the replies so far ... unfortunately I'm no further forward. I followed the instructions on the microsoft.com link above, this is the problem : "After you install an 802.11b adapter (such as an Orinoco or Cisco wireless network card) on a computer, Windows XP will automatically detect the card, install drivers, and display an icon in the notification area."

Well so far so good, it's just that the "icon" has a big red X across it ! The dialogue box says "Wireless Network Connection 3. Not connected. Right click here for more options" When I right click and select "Repair" I get a similar error message saying it's not connected.

Chris McNally Mar 25, 2006, 11:14am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Is the host pc on? Are they on the same workgroup? (Not sure they need to be for simple ICS as it happens, but it can't hurt)

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
MC CL Mar 25, 2006, 12:16pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Getting out of my depth now ! Yes the host PC (the new one) is on, its own broadband connection is working fine so that's not the problem. It just seems this new PC doesn't like the Linksys network card, even though it worked fine on the old one (both were Windows XP, both detected the hardware and installed the driver ok, so I'm at a loss as to where to go from here.)

Chris McNally Mar 25, 2006, 12:18pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Check for IRQ conflicts. If you're not sure how to do that, just uninstall the drivers, move the card to a different pci slot and reinstall drivers.

Regards,

Chris McNally

Moderator - Hardware Analysis
E-mail: chris@hardwareanalysis.com
MC CL Mar 25, 2006, 12:41pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
OK I've done the following:

1. Gone to "Device manager" and uninstalled the driver
2. Shut down the PC
3. Opened it up and moved the wireless card to another slot
4. Started it up again
5. Windows automatically detected the wireless card and installed the driver.
6. SAME BLOODY PROBLEM !! AAAAAAAAAAGH !!

The list of "Available wireless networks" is completely empty. When I go to "Open network connections", the one in question (with the red X across it) states "Wireless Network Connection 4. Not connected, Firewalled. Wireless-G PCI Adapter #2"

MC CL Mar 26, 2006, 12:57pm EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
OK I've made a bit of progress now. I've had a reply from Linksys, and got both computers to connect their respective network cards. However they still refuse to talk to each other. Here's where I'm at:

I've got both the IP addresses. When I ping the remote computer from the main one I get "Request timed out" (four times). When I ping the main computer from the remote one I get "Destination host unreachable" (also four times). Not surprisingly the remote one won't access the internet, the shared folder or the printer. The main one is still working ok with all three. Any suggestions ? Thanks

John Edwin Mar 27, 2006, 06:48am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Hi,
I have followed what you have been doing and am thinking to myself,Could you pls give me the settings for the each of the adapters in the Tcp/IP configuration properties dialog box,such as the ip address subnet mask etc.You can get this info by going to the adapter 's properties and selecting tcp/ip and then properties.
Or start->run->cmd at dos prompt type(which may be C:\)ipconfig/all command and press enter,Lets see what the setting are like.

regards,
John

MC CL Mar 27, 2006, 06:59am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Ok when I do ipconfig on the main PC I get the following:
Media state .... media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connestion 4:

Connection-specific DNS suffix : (blank)
IP address : 192.168.0.1
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default gateway : (blank)

PPP adapter BTopenworld

Connection-specific DNS suffix : (blank)
IP address : 81.159.185.19
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.255
Default gateway : 81.159.185.19

When I do ipconfig on the remote PC I just get:

Windows IP configuration

... with nothing after it.

I've tried running the various network setup wizards, however when I transfer the USB key to the remote PC with the settings I'm told that version of WIndows XP does not support this way of setting up the network, and I can print the settings to set it up manually. The remote PC has recently had a clean install of Windows XP Home from the original Dell CD.

Over to you ..... thanks!



John Edwin Mar 27, 2006, 07:10am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
On the remote computer,are you able to see the adapter in network connections,go to start->settings->network connections
If you can,pls select the adapter and go to properties,then select Tcp/ip then properties again
then tell me the details on this page

MC CL Mar 27, 2006, 07:11am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
... more info for you, in case it helps.

I've set up the network on the main PC and given the wireless network a suitable name. When I go to the remote PC I "check for available wireless networks" and the one I want pops up. I select it to connect, and sure enough it connects. So now I know that both network cards are tuned to my network. However that's as far as it goes. When I try and connect the remote PC to the internet, initially the bottom of the screen says "Detecting proxy settings", then goes to the "This page cannot be displayed" page. Also tried to access the printer and shared folder, but the remote PC doesn't want to know.

John Edwin Mar 27, 2006, 07:13am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Try to get the settings of the remote computer for me pls,ie the adapter's settings

MC CL Mar 27, 2006, 07:18am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
OK I've got the settings for "Internet protocol (TCP/IP)" from the remote PC ... is that what you mean ?

Address type <unavailable>
IP address <unavailable>
Subnet mask <unavailable>
Default gateway <unavailable>

Still trying to find more info for you (at least I'm getting fit with all this running up and down stairs !!!!)

John Edwin Mar 27, 2006, 07:34am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
Ok MCCL,For starters,lets do this,go to the remote computer and input this configuration in the properties dialog box,
Select the option that lets you input the details such IP address,subnet mask etc,
so input the following:
IP address:192.168.0.2
subnetmask 255.255.255.0
Leave the rest blank.
by the way,do you want this remote computer to connect to the net?


MC CL Mar 27, 2006, 07:38am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Network setup problems
OK done that. (and yes - if it's not on the internet my kids will ensure my life is a misery !!)


Write a Reply >>

Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2, Next >>

 

    
 
 

  Topic Tools 
 
RSS UpdatesRSS Updates
 

  Related Articles 
 
 

  Newsletter 
 
A weekly newsletter featuring an editorial and a roundup of the latest articles, news and other interesting topics.

Please enter your email address below and click Subscribe.