Please register or login. There are 0 registered and 1050 anonymous users currently online. Current bandwidth usage: 326.30 kbit/s December 10 - 10:42pm EST 
Hardware Analysis
      
Forums Product Prices
  Contents 
 
 

  Latest Topics 
 

More >>
 

    
 
 

  You Are Here: 
 
/ Forums / Projects /
 

  McFly's New Rig 
 
 Author 
 Date Written 
 Tools 
Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2
Dublin_Gunner Apr 23, 2007, 08:55pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
Nay a bother buddy. I've been left in control of the memory thread @ guru3d by the master!

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=2213051&postcount=537

lol great thread though.

BTW,

This is also a great thread for currently what to buy:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=206393&goto=newpost

McFly, please stear clear of the EVGA. If you want 680i, go for Plugs board, the Gigabyte 680i DQ6

Lancool PC K62
Phenom II x3 @ 3.5Ghz
4GB DDR2-800
ASUS GTX570 DirectCU II
Want to enjoy less advertisements and more features? Click here to become a Hardware Analysis registered user.
Adam Kolak Apr 23, 2007, 08:57pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
McFly, please stear clear of the EVGA. If you want 680i, go for Plugs board, the Gigabyte 680i DQ6

I was talking to McFly before telling him that someone said that the eVGA's where crap. Ok it was Plug&Play.

Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile
Dublin_Gunner Apr 23, 2007, 09:01pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
just check any forums...................................

Lancool PC K62
Phenom II x3 @ 3.5Ghz
4GB DDR2-800
ASUS GTX570 DirectCU II
Adam Kolak Apr 23, 2007, 09:08pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
I noticed some places started listing the DFI 680i LT board. Only one place listed it under $300. And they were all out of stock. Maybe its coming to Newegg soon.

Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile
Dublin_Gunner Apr 23, 2007, 09:11pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
for just under $300 you may as well go for a fully fledged 680i


I'm off to bed!!

Lancool PC K62
Phenom II x3 @ 3.5Ghz
4GB DDR2-800
ASUS GTX570 DirectCU II
Apr 23, 2007, 09:17pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
I talked with a friend of a friend today who owns the eVGA 122-CK-NF68-T1, and he tells me it's great ... now I'm conflicted. I'm going to dig up more reviews.

Apr 23, 2007, 09:51pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
How does this look for memory (remember, I want 2x2GB):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146690

~Vel Apr 23, 2007, 10:12pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
almost too good to be f**king true, cas 4 latency on 800 DDR2 memory. i'm drooling.

Apr 23, 2007, 10:30pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
Yah, but real pricey ... I'm thinking about getting some CAS5 2x2GB ... about $150 less!

Apr 24, 2007, 05:19pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
Heh ... 4x1GB DDR2-1000 at CAS4 is cheaper. :)

Two sets: http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820231077

Adam Kolak Apr 24, 2007, 05:57pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
Nah, thats not good, then you won't be able to max out the board at 8GB. Stick with 2x2GB so you can max out the board.

Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile
Mike L. Apr 24, 2007, 06:14pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
I wouldn't mind going with 4GB of RAM myself. Would be really sweet.

___________________________________________
I am what you would call depressingly comfortable...
Adam Kolak Apr 24, 2007, 06:28pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
Yes it would be. Just thinking about 4GB of ram...

Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile
Beavis Khan Apr 24, 2007, 06:41pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
You'll have a new computer before you need to max out the board at 8GB

(unless you are building this rig to do something that needs a ton of memory...)

____
"For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong."

- H.L. Mencken
Mike L. Apr 24, 2007, 06:49pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
It's not a question of building it for something specific. It's good to be excessive, you never know what you'll be doing with your computer in the future. When I built my computer, I made it into a powerhouse. Good thing I did. Why? For many reasons. One of them being that I like to fool around with making videos every now and then, encoding DVDs etc. If my computer was a piece ofs**t, I would NEVER be able to do the things that I do on it today.

___________________________________________
I am what you would call depressingly comfortable...
Apr 24, 2007, 07:28pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
Yah, I'm not going to need 8GB soon. I think that by the time I do, it will be time for a whole new computer anyway. 4GB should be more than enough. :)

Mike L. Apr 24, 2007, 10:50pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
You need 4GB of RAM regardless. 2GB will never survive.s**t, 1GB is already obsolete man.

___________________________________________
I am what you would call depressingly comfortable...
Apr 24, 2007, 11:36pm EDT Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: McFly's New Rig
I have 2GB now in my Athlon 64 machine. It's great ... but for continued Vista use 4GB is the sweet spot. :)


Write a Reply >>

Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2

 

    
 
 

  Topic Tools 
 
RSS UpdatesRSS Updates
 

  Related Articles 
 
 

  Newsletter 
 
A weekly newsletter featuring an editorial and a roundup of the latest articles, news and other interesting topics.

Please enter your email address below and click Subscribe.