Please register or login. There are 0 registered and 283 anonymous users currently online. Current bandwidth usage: 326.30 kbit/s May 16 - 06:44am EDT 
Hardware Analysis
      
Forums Product Prices
  Contents 
 
 

  Latest Topics 
 

More >>
 

    
 
 

  You Are Here: 
 
/ Forums / General Technology /
 

  Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network 
 
 Author 
 Date Written 
 Tools 
Adam Kolak Apr 30, 2007, 03:37pm EDT Report Abuse
I have my Xbox 360 setup as a Media Center Extender for my Windows Vista Media Center on my PC. So one day I'm playing around with my Xbox 360 and I go to Windows Media Center and see what happens if you try and go into it with your Media Center PC turned off. So I click on it expecting to get a "Windows Media Center PC not found or not turned on error" or something like that. But no thats not what happens. Instead I hear my PC boot up. And sure enough the Xbox 360 sent a signal over my local area network to my PC telling it to turn on so I could use my Media Center Extender. At first I thought wow this could be a major security risk, but then the more I thought about it, it is also a great feature, that I didn't know existed. Luckily you can turn this off in the options. But still I was very surprised that the Xbox 360 Media Extender could remotely boot up my PC across the LAN.


Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile
Want to enjoy fewer advertisements and more features? Click here to become a Hardware Analysis registered user.
~Vel Apr 30, 2007, 04:03pm EDT Report Abuse
>> Re: Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network
hmm, interesting, it's a nice thing to know for people who don't have their comp right next to their 360 =p

Adam Kolak Apr 30, 2007, 04:07pm EDT Report Abuse
>> Re: Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network
Actually for me my PC is pretty close to my Xbox 360. That's how I found out it was happening when I tried to access Media Center on the 360 with my PC turned off. If it was in another room I might not have realized this.

Of course the same would work if your Xbox 360 was in your living room and your PC was in your office. So you wouldn't have to walk into your office to turn on your PC to access your media.

Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile
shuja rahman May 01, 2007, 04:27am EDT Report Abuse
>> Re: Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network
Hmmmmm,,,Thats a hidden feature from Microsoft :cool:

Intel Core2Duo E6420
Intel S975Xbx2
Kingston 1x2 gig ram
120 G.B Sata 2
625 PSU
XFX 7800GT
May 01, 2007, 04:37am EDT Report Abuse
>> Re: Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network
If you don't like that feature, go into your compy's BIOS and disable wake-on-LAN.

Adam Kolak May 03, 2007, 04:19pm EDT Report Abuse
>> Re: Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network
McFly said:
If you don't like that feature, go into your compy's BIOS and disable wake-on-LAN.

You can disable it from media center too. It's one of the options in Media Center.

Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile
Adam Kolak May 03, 2007, 04:20pm EDT Report Abuse
>> Re: Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network
shuja rahman said:
Hmmmmm,,,Thats a hidden feature from Microsoft :cool:

Actually it's not hidden, just not well known. If you look through the options in Media Center Extender on Xbox 360, you'll see a "wake media center PC if not on" or something like that.

Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile
Marco Marta Nov 28, 2007, 05:14am EST Report Abuse
>> Re: Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network
Hi
I see one of your post in MAY 2007,

I've connected XBOX 360 trought a gigabit switch, my vista mce is in s3 Mode and Wol is ok on the network card settings, but xbox 360 don't resume my pc.

You write

Actually it's not hidden, just not well known. If you look through the options in Media Center Extender on Xbox 360, you'll see a "wake media center PC if not on" or something like that.


Where are these settings?

If a connect a Notebook and I send wol packet to my vista mce pc all is right, the pc resume from s3

Please help and sorry for the worst English

bye

Adam Kolak Nov 28, 2007, 04:16pm EST Report Abuse
>> Re: Xbox 360 can remotely start up your PC over a network
Those settings would be in the BIOS of the computer.

Adam Kolak
Moderator, Hardware Analysis
adam@hardwareanalysis.com
DFI LP P35-T2RS | Xeon Quad @ 3.2Ghz | 4GB DDR2-1000 | 8800GT 512MB | See Profile


 

    
 
 

  Topic Tools 
 
RSS UpdatesRSS Updates
 

  Related Articles 
 
 

  Newsletter 
 
A weekly newsletter featuring an editorial and a roundup of the latest articles, news and other interesting topics.

Please enter your email address below and click Subscribe.