Please register or login. There are 0 registered and 1264 anonymous users currently online. Current bandwidth usage: 326.30 kbit/s December 16 - 09:08pm EST 
Hardware Analysis

Forums Product Prices
  Contents 

Latest Topics 

More >>

You Are Here: 

/ Forums / Intel's Core i7, is it ever enough?

Everyone likes more speed 

Author 
 Date Written 
 Tools 
Continue Reading on Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, Next >>
elliott trevino Jan 10, 2009, 01:03am EST Reply - Quote - Report Abuse
Private Message - Add to Buddy List  
>> Re: Everyone likes more speed
I agree with you in that point with the economy only the truly able will upgrade to an i7 the prices are terribly high. I have been pushing the AMD/ATI 780g Chipset with a midrange X2 this combo really helps the overall performance of the whole system. I am a system builder and most of those people I get are on a serious budget many are just now upgrading from AthlonXP socket 462 & Pentium 4 Northwoods, yes most of thier pc's are dinosaurs but they were happy, however now with more and more online entertainment from Hulu.com to WarRock they are wanting more options and better speed. You can call them late to the table however this works to my advantage as the 780 & 790 chipsets from AMD can both be upgraded to Phenom AM2+ or AM3 boards in this way AMD has created an upgrade path that at the least envolves a processor upgrade and at best inlcudes a ram update to 1066mhz and soon the DDR3 will be available from what I have read on MSI, ASUS, BIOSTAR & ECS they plan to offer bios updates to enable better upgrade paths on existing motherboards granted some won't run the newer ram due to socket limitations but a good number of the processors will work. This path for me makes alot of sense and to my customers. While these boards are not Awesome they are very very good and provide more than adequate performance, if everyone really wanted a faster processor the Celeron & Sempron would never have come to any motherboard. I also realiz